Chapter 5: Hymn to the Absolute Truth

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrī Brahma-saḿhitā 5.51

agnir mahi gaganam ambu marud diśaś ca

kālas tathātma-manasīti jagat-trayāṇi

yasmād bhavanti vibhavanti viśanti yaḿ ca

govindam ādi-puruṣaḿ tam ahaḿ bhajāmi


agniḥ — fire; mahi — earth; gaganam — ether; ambu — water; marut — air; diśaḥ — directions; ca — also; kālaḥ — time; tathāas well as; ātma — soul; manasī — and mind; iti — thus; jagat-trayāṇi — the three worlds; yasmāt — from whom; bhavanti — they originate; vibhavanti — they exist; viśanti — they enter; yam — whom; ca — also; govindamGovinda; ādi-puruṣam — the original person; tam — Him; ahamI; bhajāmi — worship.


The three worlds are composed of the nine elements, viz., fire, earth, ether, water, air, direction, time, soul and mind. I adore the primeval Lord Govinda from whom they originate, in whom they exist and into whom they enter at the time of the universal cataclysm.


There is nothing in the three worlds save the five elements, ten quarters, time, jīva-soul, and the mental principle allied with the subtle body consisting of mind, intelligence and ego of conditioned souls. The elevationists (karmīs) make their offerings in sacrifice in the fire. Conditioned souls know nothing beyond this perceptible world of nine elements. The jīva is the self-same soul whose ecstatic delight the joyless liberationists (jñānīs) aspire after. Both the principles that are respectively depicted as ātmā and prakṛti by the system of Sāńkhya are included in the above. In other words all the principles that have been enunciated by all the speculative philosophers (tattva-vādīs) are included in these nine elements. Śrī Govinda is the source of the appearance, continuance and subsidence of all these principles.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness