Canto 11: General HistoryChapter 14: Lord Kṛṣṇa Explains the Yoga System to Śrī Uddhava

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 11.14.17

niṣkiñcanā mayy anurakta-cetasaḥ

śāntā mahānto 'khila-jīva-vatsalāḥ

kāmair anālabdha-dhiyo juṣanti te

yan nairapekṣyaḿ na viduḥ sukhaḿ mama


niṣkiñcanāḥ — without any desire for sense gratification; mayiin Me, the Supreme Lord; anurakta-cetasaḥ — mind constantly attached; śāntāḥ — peaceful; mahāntaḥ — great souls without false ego; akhilato all; jīva — living entities; vatsalāḥ — affectionate well-wishers; kāmaiḥ — by opportunities for sense gratification; anālabdha — untouched and unaffected; dhiyaḥ — whose consciousness; juṣanti — experience; te — they; yat — which; nairapekṣyam — achieved only by complete detachment; na viduḥ — they do not know; sukham — happiness; mama — My.


Those who are without any desire for personal gratification, whose minds are always attached to Me, who are peaceful, without false ego and merciful to all living entities, and whose consciousness is never affected by opportunities for sense gratification — such persons enjoy in Me a happiness that cannot be known or achieved by those lacking such detachment from the material world.


The pure devotees always experience transcendental bliss in their service to Śrī Kṛṣṇa, the reservoir of pleasure; thus they are completely detached from material pleasure and do not desire even liberation. Since all others have some personal desire, they cannot experience such happiness. Pure devotees always desire to give Kṛṣṇa conscious happiness to all others, and therefore they are called mahāntaḥ, or great souls. In the course of a devotee's service, many opportunities for sense gratification arise, but a pure devotee is not tempted or attracted and does not fall down from his exalted transcendental position.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness
His Holiness Hrdayananda dasa Goswami
Gopiparanadhana dasa Adhikari
Dravida dasa Brahmacari