Canto 11: General HistoryChapter 21: Lord Kṛṣṇa's Explanation of the Vedic Path

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 11.21.1

śrī-bhagavān uvāca

ya etān mat-patho hitvā


kṣudrān kāmāḿś calaiḥ prāṇair

juṣantaḥ saḿsaranti te


śrī-bhagavān uvāca — the Supreme Personality of Godhead said; ye — those who; etān — these; mat-pathaḥ — means for achieving Me; hitvā — giving up; bhakti — devotional service; jñāna — analytic philosophy; kriyā — regulated work; ātmakān — consisting of; kṣudrān — insignificant; kāmān — sense gratification; calaiḥ — by the flickering; prāṇaiḥ — senses; juṣantaḥ — cultivating; saḿsaranti — undergo material existence; te — they.


The Supreme Personality of Godhead said: Those who give up these methods for achieving Me, which consist of devotional service, analytic philosophy and regulated execution of prescribed duties, and instead, being moved by the material senses, cultivate insignificant sense gratification, certainly undergo the continual cycle of material existence.


As clearly explained by Lord Kṛṣṇa in the previous chapters, philosophical analysis and also the performance of prescribed duties are ultimately meant for achieving Kṛṣṇa consciousness, or pure love of God. Devotional service, based on hearing and chanting the glories of the Lord, directly engages the conditioned soul in the Lord's loving service and thus is the most efficient means of achieving the Lord. All three processes, however, share a common goal, Kṛṣṇa consciousness. Now the Lord describes those who, being completely absorbed in material sense gratification, do not adopt any authorized means to achieve the Lord's mercy. Currently, hundreds of millions of unfortunate human beings fit squarely into this category and, as described here, perpetually suffer the bondage of material existence.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness
His Holiness Hrdayananda dasa Goswami
Gopiparanadhana dasa Adhikari
Dravida dasa Brahmacari