Canto 11: General HistoryChapter 21: Lord Kṛṣṇa's Explanation of the Vedic Path

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 11.21.41

gāyatry uṣṇig anuṣṭup ca

bṛhatī pańktir eva ca

triṣṭub jagaty aticchando

hy atyaṣṭy-atijagad-virāṭ


gāyatrī uṣṇik anuṣṭup ca — known as Gāyatrī, Uṣṇik and Anuṣṭup; bṛhatī pańktiḥBṛhatī and Pańkti; eva ca — also; triṣṭup jagatī aticchandaḥTriṣṭup, Jagatī and Aticchanda; hi — indeed; atyaṣṭi-atijagat-virāṭAtyaṣṭi, Atijagatī and Ativirāṭ.


The Vedic meters are Gāyatrī, Uṣṇik, Anuṣṭup, Bṛhatī, Pańkti, Triṣṭup, Jagatī, Aticchanda, Atyaṣṭi, Atijagatī and Ativirāṭ.


The Gāyatrī meter has twenty-four syllables, the Uṣṇik twenty-eight, the Anuṣṭup thirty-two, and so on, each meter having four more syllables than the previous one. Vedic sound is called bṛhatī, or most expansive, and thus it is not possible for ordinary living entities to understand all the technical details in this matter.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness
His Holiness Hrdayananda dasa Goswami
Gopiparanadhana dasa Adhikari
Dravida dasa Brahmacari