Canto 12: The Age of DeteriorationChapter 4: The Four Categories of Universal Annihilation

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 12.4.25

buddher jāgaraṇaḿ svapnaḥ

suṣuptir iti cocyate

māyā-mātram idaḿ rājan

nānātvaḿ pratyag-ātmani


buddheḥ — of intelligence; jāgaraṇam — waking consciousness; svapnaḥ — sleep; suṣuptiḥ — deep sleep; iti — thus; ca — and; ucyateare called; māyā-mātram — merely illusion; idam — this; rājanO King; nānātvam — the duality; pratyak-ātmani — experienced by the pure soul.


The three states of intelligence are called waking consciousness, sleep and deep sleep. But, my dear King, the variegated experiences created for the pure living entity by these different states are nothing more than illusion.


Pure Kṛṣṇa consciousness exists beyond the various stages of material awareness. Just as darkness vanishes in the presence of light, so illusory material intelligence, which is experienced as normal perception, dreaming and deep sleep, completely vanishes in the brilliant presence of pure Kṛṣṇa consciousness, the constitutional condition of every living entity.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness
His Holiness Hrdayananda dasa Goswami
Gopiparanadhana dasa Adhikari
Dravida dasa Brahmacari