Canto 3: The Status QuoChapter 26: Fundamental Principles of Material Nature

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 3.26.11

pañcabhiḥ pañcabhir brahma

caturbhir daśabhis tathā

etac catur-viḿśatikaḿ

gaṇaḿ prādhānikaḿ viduḥ


pañcabhiḥ — with the five (gross elements); pañcabhiḥ — the five (subtle elements); brahmaBrahman; caturbhiḥ — the four (internal senses); daśabhiḥ — the ten (five senses for gathering knowledge and five organs of action); tathāin that way; etat — this; catuḥ-viḿśatikam — consisting of twenty-four elements; gaṇam — aggregate; prādhānikam — comprising the pradhāna; viduḥ — they know.


The aggregate elements, namely the five gross elements, the five subtle elements, the four internal senses, the five senses for gathering knowledge and the five outward organs of action, are known as the pradhāna.


According to Bhagavad-gītā, the sum total of the twenty-four elements described herein is called the yonir mahad brahma. The sum total of the living entities is impregnated into this yonir mahad brahma, and they are born in different forms, beginning from Brahmā down to the insignificant ant. In the Śrīmad-Bhāgavatam and other Vedic literatures, the sum total of the twenty-four elements, pradhāna, is also described as yonir mahad brahma; it is the source of the birth and subsistence of all living entities.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness