Canto 4: Creation of the Fourth OrderChapter 29: Talks Between Nārada and King Prācīnabarhi

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 4.29.13

pravṛttaḿ ca nivṛttaḿ ca

śāstraḿ pañcāla-saḿjñitam

pitṛ-yānaḿ deva-yānaḿ

śrotrāc chruta-dharād vrajet


pravṛttam — the process of sense enjoyment; ca — also; nivṛttam — the process of detachment; ca — also; śāstram — scripture; pañcālaPañcāla; saḿjñitam — is described as; pitṛ-yānam — going to Pitṛloka; deva-yānam — going to Devaloka; śrotrāt — by hearing; śruta-dharāt — by the companion named Śrutadhara; vrajet — one can be elevated.


Nārada Muni continued: The city spoken of as Dakṣiṇa-pañcāla represents the scriptures meant for directing pravṛtti, the process of sense enjoyment in fruitive activities. The other city, named Uttara-pañcāla, represents the scriptures meant for decreasing fruitive activities and increasing knowledge. The living entity receives different kinds of knowledge by means of two ears, and some living entities are promoted to Pitṛloka and some to Devaloka. All this is made possible by the two ears.


The Vedas are known as śruti, and the knowledge received from them through aural reception is called śruta-dhara. As stated in Bhagavad-gītā, one can be promoted to the planets of the demigods or to the planets of the Pitās (forefathers), or even to the Vaikuṇṭha planets, simply through the process of hearing. These things have already been explained in previous chapters.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness