Canto 7: The Science of GodChapter 11: The Perfect Society: Four Social Classes

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 7.11.30

vṛttiḥ sańkara-jātīnāḿ

tat-tat-kula-kṛtā bhavet

acaurāṇām apāpānām



vṛttiḥ — occupational duty; sańkara-jātīnām — of the mixed classes of men (those other than the four divisions); tat-tat — according to their respective; kula-kṛtā — family tradition; bhavet — should be; acaurāṇām — not thieves by profession; apāpānām — not sinful; antyaja — lower classes; antevasāyinām — known as antevasāyī or caṇḍāla.


Among the mixed classes known as sańkara, those who are not thieves are known as antevasāyī or caṇḍālas [dog-eaters], and they also have their hereditary customs.


The four principal divisions of society — brāhmaṇa, kṣatriya, vaiśya and śūdra — have been defined, and now there is a description of the antyaja, the mixed classes. Among the mixed classes, there are two divisions — pratilomaja and anulomaja. If a woman of a high caste marries a man of a lower caste, their union is called pratilo. If a woman of a low caste, however, marries a man of a higher caste, their union is called anulo. The members of such dynasties have their traditional duties as barbers, washermen and so on. Among the antyajas, those who are still somewhat pure in that they do not steal and are not addicted to meat-eating, drinking, illicit sex and gambling are called antevasāyī. Among people of the lower classes, intermarriage and the drinking of wine are allowed, for these people do not recognize such conduct as sinful among themselves.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright © The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness